Becoming a Woman of Excellence by Cynthia Heald

Book description:

Society beckons us to succeed―to achieve excellence in our appearance, our earning power, our family life. God Himself also beckons us to be women of excellence. But what exactly is He asking? If you’re hungry for God’s perspective on success in a society that bombards you with conflicting demands, feed on the truths of God’s Word that you’ll discover in these pages. You will not only learn to “approve the things that are excellent” but will also experience the joy of becoming God’s woman of excellence. This bestselling topical Bible study has helped over one million women over the past 30 years, and is newly revised and updated so today’s women can discover who God designed them to be in this day and age. Written by Navigator author and Bible teacher Cynthia Heald, the 11 sessions in this Bible study explore what your identity in Christ is and how you can best serve Him.

My review:

This was my first foray into the Becoming a Woman of … series. I can’t wait to read another one. Each chapter is built around a different facet of becoming a woman of excellence and has a large amount of Bible verses that are related to each idea.

As I went through the book, I found that I had a hard time getting all the way through each chapter in one sitting. I appreciated that there were numbered questions in each chapter because it made it easier to break it down into smaller components for those days that I just did not have enough time. My time has been very short lately!

By far, my favorite part of the book was at the end of the chapter when Heald shared “Reflections from an older woman”. I appreciated her wisdom and more personal thoughts. I find myself more and more interested in the wisdom of older women the older I get!

If you are looking for a straight-forward, no-nonsense Bible study on pursuing excellence, this is a good choice. I went through it alone, but I think it might be even more meaningful doing the study with a group or at least a couple of friends to share and discuss the applications of ideas. I think you can trust in a book that has been around long enough to warrant a 30th Anniversary Edition!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

