8 Simple Tools for Raising Great Kids by Dr. Todd Cartmell

Book description:

Whether you find parenting intuitive or impossible, we could all use a hand here and there. Let child psychologist and father Todd Cartmell walk you through the nuts and bolts of healthy, effective parenting.

Using examples from his home and 20 years of professional practice, Todd gives eight essential and practical tools to help you:

Maintain a healthy relationship with your child
Develop a nurturing home culture
Correct behavior in lasting ways

Designed for busy parents, 8 Simple Tools breaks each tool into five short chapters that include a summary tip and application questions. Use even half of the tools in your parenting, and your family dynamics will thrive. Your relationship with your child will be built on love and trust, providing you with fertile ground for planting God’s wisdom in their heart, and ultimately, seeing them flourish.

My review:

This is the best parenting book I have read in a very long time. Although the title says 8 simple tools for raising great kids, there are far more than 8 strategies or tips for deepening a relationship with your child or improving home life.

What I really liked about this book is that it made me a lot more thoughtful in a deliberate way about how I speak to my children. I liked the idea of practicing positive behavior and had to laugh when, two days after I read that section of the book where the parent and child practiced putting her backpack away, I walked into the kitchen to find two backpacks left on the kitchen floor. I called the offenders to the kitchen and walked through the process of arriving home and putting their backpacks where they belong. I think the strategy of repetitive practice is far more effective than all the nagging in the world. It also takes a lot less energy out of mom!

However, I don’t think this book is just for parents. I found myself utilizing a lot of strategies from the book in my job as a teacher, too. For this reason, I think this book would be great for anyone who deals with children.

I would recommend this book to anyone who has children or interacts with children. It is the best book about parenting I have read in a great while.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

