Having a Martha Home the Mary Way by Sarah Mae

Book description:

Sarah Mae wants to let you in on a little secret about being a good homemaker: It’s not about having a clean house. She’d never claim to be a natural, organized cleaner herself―yet, like you, she wants a beautiful space to call home, a place where people feel loved and at peace. Where people can really settle in with good food, comfy pillows, and wide-open hearts.

Is it possible to find a balance? To care for your heart―and your home―at the same time?

Journey with Sarah Mae on this easy, practical 31-day plan to get you moving and have your house looking and feeling fresh. But even more than that, you’ll gain a new vision for the home of your dreams, and how to make it a place of peace, comfort, and community. Originally published as the e-book 31 Days to Clean and now revised and expanded in print for the first time, Having a Martha Home the Mary Way will inspire you to find a happier, healthier . . . cleaner way to live.

My review:

I have always felt guilty reading the story of Mary and Martha in the Bible, knowing that I am definitely a Martha from the story. I’ve always been bothered by the fact that I miss out on things that are far too important to miss out on (just like Martha did) because of my compulsion to keep things tidy. Knowing that I should make different choices didn’t really help.

I was super excited to read this book, hoping for strategies to make a difference in the way I approached house cleaning. It wasn’t exactly what I expected, but it did have a lot of suggestions that were easy to implement into my house cleaning routine. The changes are small enough that they are not overwhelming. I like the suggestions for streamlining possessions and setting limits for cleaning. The devotional questions help to maintain focus on living a Mary lifestyle.

I was hoping for a chart or graphic organizer to help me keep my home a Martha home while living a Mary life. Perhaps in another edition the author will offer that for her readers. However, I’m hoping that I can takeaway the idea to balance Mary and Martha so that my house is clean, but I take the time to focus on the most important of things!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

