Raising Grateful Kids in an Entitled World by Kristen Welch

Book description:

“But everyone else has it.” “If you loved me, you’d get it for me!” When you hear these comments from your kids, it can be tough not to cave. You love your children―don’t you want them to be happy and to fit in?

Kristen Welch knows firsthand it’s not that easy. In fact, she’s found out that when you say yes too often, it’s not only hard on your peace of mind and your wallet―it actually puts your kids at long-term risk. In Raising Grateful Kids in an Entitled World, Kristen shares the ups and downs in her own family’s journey of discovering why it’s healthiest not to give their kids everything. Teaching them the difference between “want” and “need” is the first step in the right direction. With many practical tips and anecdotes, she shares how to help kids become hardworking, fulfilled, and successful adults.

It’s never too late to raise grateful kids. Get ready to cultivate a spirit of genuine appreciation in your family and create a home in which your kids don’t just say―but mean!―“thank you” for everything they have.

My review:

As a parent, it can be difficult when your child asks for something that “everyone else has”. It is nearly impossible to determine if they “need” that smartphone and if the benefits of having it justify the risks.

The best part about this book is the way that Welch encourages her readers over and over again that it is not too late to emphasize gratefulness in our families and gives us specific guidelines on how to change the atmosphere in our homes from a child-centered home to a Jesus-centered home.

The only negative thing I can say about this book is the number of times that Welch reminded readers that she is not an expert in parenting. I don’t know if the disclaimer was requested from the editor or if it was something Welch wanted to put in, but it was mentioned far too frequently. In my opinion, a disclaimer in the introduction and maybe in the first and last chapter would have been more than sufficient. No one is an expert in parenting – even parenting “experts”. We are all just people who love our kids trying to do the best we can.

I appreciate the stories that Welch shared about her family and children and things they have said and done. To me, that is more beneficial than a lot of parenting books. I just want to know things that have worked (or not) with other parents. That is one area that Welch excels at as a writer, sharing anecdotes about her family to encourage her readers.

I could identify with a lot of struggles that the Welch family has encountered. It was ironic that the very week that I read this book, my youngest said to me, “If you really loved me, you would take me to the skateboard shop.” Having the tools I acquired from Welch fresh in my mind gave me the confidence to pause and have a discussion about the statement instead of saying, “Yes” or “No”.

This is a great book for any parents wanting to make thoughtful and deliberate lessons to their children to raise a generation of grateful people.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

