Rare Bird by Anna Whiston-Donaldson

Book description:

On an ordinary September day, twelve-year-old Jack is swept away in a freak neighborhood flood. His parents and younger sister are left to wrestle with the awful questions: How could God let this happen? And, Can we ever be happy again? They each fall into the abyss of grief in different ways. And in the days and months to come, they each find their faltering way toward peace.

In Rare Bird, Anna Whiston-Donaldson unfolds a mother’s story of loss that leads, in time, to enduring hope. “Anna’s storytelling,” says Glennon Doyle Melton, “is raw and real and intense and funny.”

With this unforgettable account of a family’s love and longing, Anna will draw you deeper into a divine goodness that keeps us—beyond all earthly circumstances—safe.

This is a book about facing impossible circumstances and wanting to turn back the clock. It is about the flicker of hope in realizing that in times of heartbreak, God is closer than your own skin. It is about discovering that you’re braver than you think.

My review:

I had never heard of Whiston-Donaldson or read her blog before reading this book, but I instantly felt a connection with her from the very first page of this book. Thankfully I have never experienced the devastating loss that she has, but as a mother, I could certainly imagine her heartbreak.

I don’t mind books that make me cry and actually enjoy the tears occasionally. This is one of those books that made me cry. However, in spite of the sorrow, it shares a message of hope. Readers are reassured that God is faithful and is always with us, especially when we need Him the most.

I could completely identify with the dreams that people shared with Whiston-Donaldson where they saw Jack. I lost my mom several years ago and occasionally dream of her. It is always so comforting and I always enjoy them.

There are elements of this book that anyone who has ever loved or lost someone will identify with. There are a lot of good reminders that readers should always remember as we go about our lives. If you are looking for a book filled with life, love and hope, this is the one for you!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

