Your Best Destiny by Wintley Phipps

Book description:

When you imagine what it would take for your life to be truly great―for you to become your best, most fulfilled self―do you dream of something more than what you have now? More money . . . more attention . . . more significance? What you may be missing is the one thing that actually gives your life ultimate value, meaning, and purpose.

Your Best Destiny helps you find it through a highly insightful personal assessment tool that will reveal eight keys God has placed deep within you to unlock your true character and help you become who you were born to be.

In this rich and encouraging book, Wintley Phipps―pastor, recording artist, and founder of the U.S. Dream Academy, the organization Oprah Winfrey honored with the Oprah Winfrey Angel Network “Use Your Life” Award―shares what he has learned (sometimes the hard way) about what it takes to become “the best me I can be.” Join him as he leads you on a path to change your focus from what you have and do to who you are. Start today on the path to a truly great life, and step into your God-given destiny. (Includes an access code to the Your Best Destiny Personal Assessment Tool to reveal your personal strengths and areas for growth.)

My review:

I really loved this book. I thought the message was really easy to understand and very timely. Phipps breaks down his ideas into eight different pillars or secrets to achieve God’s best for our lives. Ranging from belief and virtue to kindness and love, each section is broken down and interspersed with interesting vignettes that illustrate the importance of each pillar.

I really can’t remember the last time I read a book that immediately changed the way that I looked at myself and others. For example, I loved the way that Phipps explained how we are all made in God’s image. It is one thing to read it in the Bible and another thing to internalize what that means and should look like in the way we relate to others and how we view ourselves. The entire book is filled with thought-provoking ideas to internalize lessons straight from the Bible.

If you are looking for a book to change your life, this one has that potential. With non-fiction books, you can never be sure if you are going to click with the ideas or if it will be too dry or filled with ideas that are not that useful. This one far surpassed what I hope for in a non-fiction book. I think a lot of people could be positively impacted by this book.

The highest compliment I can give to a book is for me to put it on my bookshelf that I don’t lend out from. This book made the cut!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher as part of a book launch team in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

