Things I’ve Said to My Children by Nathan Ripperger

Book description:

An illustrated gift book that brings to life the universal parenting experience of saying strange and hilarious things to one’s kids.
As the father of five boys (all under age 10), graphic designer Nathan Ripperger has found himself saying some rather funny, absurd, and downright bizarre things to his children, from “Stop riding that penguin, we’re leaving” to “I am NOT talking to you until you are wearing underwear.” He created poster-like images for each and posted them online. The response from other parents was overwhelming. With Things I’ve Said to My Children, Ripperger has assembled around 80 of the funniest, weirdest, and most amusing sayings and paired them with full-color, designed images that bring these outrageously hysterical quotes to life. Covering the essential parenting topics like food, animals, don’ts, and of course, bodily functions, Things I’ve Said to My Children is a light-hearted illustrated reminder of the shared absurdity of parenthood. Especially for those parents who’ve ever found themselves uttering some variation of the line, “Please don’t eat the goldfish crackers you’ve put in your butt.”

My review:

Parents find themselves saying things they never in a million years imagined they would ever say to their children.  Children do crazy things and use ordinary objects in extraordinary ways.  They are imaginative and creative and just plain weird and goofy.

Ripperger captures some of his funny quotes and illustrates them between the pages of this book.  Some of the quotes are funny; other quotes are such that I can imagine they were funny in the moment they were uttered.  I do have to be honest and state that I have read funnier quotes in other books.  I expected to be laughing out loud and found myself just smiling.

Although I was a little disappointed in the quotes, the pictures far exceeded my expectations!  They are colorful and quite charming.  I also like the differences between the fonts on the different pages.  I can imagine that children would love looking at this book and the colors on the pages.

I think a lot of people would enjoy this book, particularly anyone who deals with children.  It will bring a smile to your face and remind you of funny things that you have said to children.  Who else would you have to say, “Don’t put gravel in your underwear” to?  This would make a nice gift for a teacher or some other adult in your child’s life.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

