A Heart’s Betrayal by Colleen Coble

Book description:

When Emmie Croftner answered the door to her late husband’s home, she discovered an awful truth: her deceased husband was a bigamist. And what’s more, the home she thought she inherited never belonged to her at all.

Suddenly displaced, powerless, and ashamed, Emmie can’t stay in Wabash, Indiana. She makes a hopeful start for Fort Laramie, Wyoming, to find her friend Sarah Montgomery and a new beginning. But when she arrives, she discovers she’s pregnant—and without a husband. The new start she’d hoped for slips from her fingers.

But then she meets Isaac Liddle, a handsome soldier with a kind heart. When he begins to court her, Emmie wonders whether she could ever really be his—and whether she dares to tell him she is carrying another man’s baby.

My review:

This is the first book I’ve read from the Journey of the Heart series by Colleen Coble.  The best thing about the book is that even though I have never read any of the other books in the series, I wasn’t lost at all with the characters.  Obviously some of them had a backstory that was briefly mentioned throughout the book, but the focus of the book was on Emmie.

When I first got the book, I was a little surprised at how short it was and I started to think that it was more of a novella, instead of a novel.  I suspect that if all six books were somehow compiled into one book, it would be a more complete work.

The characters and idea of the book are great.  The writing is descriptive and everything you want to read in a novel.  Right away I cared about Emmie and was hoping for the best for her.  However, the execution of the plot left a little to be desired.  The back cover describes Isaac and Emmie developing a relationship, so much so that she wonders whether he could accept her baby as his own.  Unfortunately, Emmie’s pregnancy isn’t revealed until the very end of the book, and Isaac and Emmie’s relationship hasn’t progressed much beyond friendship at that point.

I wish the book could have been another hundred pages.  It would have been nice to read more about Emmie and Isaac and what happens with them.  I’m sure I can learn more in books 5 and 6, but I think it might be better to get the entire series and read it from start to finish.  Perhaps then the brevity won’t bother me so much.

If you are looking for a light, very quick read (I read this one in between innings of one Little League game), this is a good choice.  Just be aware that the back cover description doesn’t quite capture the essence of the book.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Book Look Bloggers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

