What If by Rebecca Donovan

Book description:

Cal Logan is shocked to see Nicole Bentley sitting across from him at a coffee shop thousands of miles from their hometown. After all, no one has seen or heard from her since they graduated over a year ago.

Except this girl isn’t Nicole.

She looks exactly like Cal’s shy childhood crush, but her name is Nyelle Preston and she has no idea who he is. This girl is impulsive and daring, her passion for life infectious. The complete opposite of Nicole. Cal finds himself utterly fascinated-and falling hard. But Nyelle is also extremely secretive. And the closer he comes to finding out what she’s hiding, the less he wants to know.

When the secrets from the past and present collide, one thing becomes clear: Nothing is what it seems.

My review:

I have to confess that this is the first book I have ever read in my life solely based on a book review.  The review that I read of the book wasn’t a positive review, but the review was so thoughtful and well-written that I had to read the book and see if I had similar thoughts.

The description of this book does a really good job in enticing readers to enter into the mysterious world of Cal/Nicole/Nyelle.  I wanted to read the book just to figure things out.  Unfortunately, the mystery of the description is the most mysterious thing about the book.

It is the character of Cal that carries this book.  I thought Donovan did a good job making him interesting to readers and depicting him in a way that made me care about what happened to him.  I didn’t have that same kind of emotional attachment to the other characters.  However, the characters are what make this book readable.

The plot is not great in my opinion.  It is a little frustrating because it could have been so much better with just some small changes.  Some parts were too detailed and dragged on, while other parts weren’t detailed enough.  It made the book seem even more disjointed than it already is.  There was a sense of having an elephant in the room, where everyone is aware of it, but doesn’t simply ask the question.  It would have been nice if at any point in the book Cal simply said to Nyelle, “You remind me so much of someone I used to know.”

Overall, it was an ok book.  Good characters, good setting, but It isn’t one that I will rave about to my friends, but I finished it easily without having to force myself to read it all simply to review it.  I would be interested to read another book by Donovan, because I did enjoy the character of Cal so much.  I do think that young adults would probably enjoy this book more than I did, mostly because of the age of the characters.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

