Sabotaged by Dani Pettrey

Book description:

Growing up, goody-two-shoes Kirra Jacobs and troublemaker Reef McKenna were always at odds. Now, working together as search-and-rescue for Alaska’s arduous Iditarod race, a growing attraction seems to be forcing aside old arguments. Then Reef catches Kirra sneaking from camp in the middle of the night.

Kirra’s uncle, a musher in the race, has disappeared. Kirra and Reef quickly track the man, but what they discover is harrowing: Frank’s daughter has been kidnapped. Kirra and Reef, along with the entire McKenna family, are thrown into a race to stop a shadowy villain who is not only threatening a girl’s life–but appears willing to unleash one of the largest disasters Alaska has ever seen.

My review:

I was hooked by this book from the start.  I thought the setting of the Iditarod race was really interesting and I looked forward to learning a little bit about life in Alaska.  Kirra and Reef were interesting characters and I was pulled in to the story right off the bat.

There were several things I liked about the plot, too.  Pettrey did a great job alluding to Kirra’s secret without giving it away and then revealing it at just the right time.  Sometimes authors build up character secrets too much and I start to think, “I get it, they have a secret” and it becomes a distraction from the plot.  I also think the way it was revealed was excellently crafted.

However, despite all of the positives going for this book, at some point it fell flat for me.  I had to force myself to continue reading it for the purpose of reviewing it.  As I thought about why it lost my interest, I realized that I didn’t really have an emotional investment in Meg.  Obviously I wanted Kirra to find her cousin, but it was pretty low-stakes for me.

If you are a fan of mysteries, you will probably enjoy this book.  Obviously if you have read the other books in the series, you will want to read this final installment.  However, if you haven’t read the other books in the Alaskan Courage series, another one might be a better place to start.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sabotaged by Dani Pettrey

  1. I liked this book well enough, but wasn’t blow away or anything. I was expecting it to be much more focused on the Iditarod Trail than it was. Overall, though, I enjoyed this series and the McKennas.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

