If Jesus Had a Child by Dr. B. Glenn Wilkerson

Book description:

As a parent who wants to do the best job possible guiding your child through the social and emotional minefield that characterizes today’s world, do you struggle with the following issues? • How do I bully-proof my child? • Is it normal for my children to fight with one another? • How involved should I be in my child’s homework? • Why is my child “parent-deaf”? • What causes my child’s misbehavior, and what can I do about it? If Jesus Had a Child uses illustrations, story-telling, and humor to explore Jesus’ answers to questions that concern the minds and occupy the hearts of parents.

My review:

Every parent knows what a difficult job raising children can be.  We want the best for our children and we want to do the best by our children to raise them to be the best people they can be.  Sometimes, despite our best efforts, our children fight with their siblings or blatantly disobey.  Wilkerson offers a wonderful book to help parents navigate potential landmines and offers realistic advice on how to turn around behavior.

From the very beginning chapters of this book, Wilkerson gave me strategies that I could implement immediately to make my parenting skills better.  Sometimes parenting books spend so much time talking about problems that I find myself asking, “But what should I do to avoid the problems?” and they never offer any instruction on how to make changes.  This book offers tangible strategies (as well as a helpful chart) on what to do to be a better parent by modeling our parenting after the actions of Jesus.

At the end of the book, Wilkerson lists a short checklist of only six points that parents can do daily to be great parents.  It was so helpful that I copied it so that I can refer to it daily and remind myself of things I should do.

This is a great for parents of all stages, whether of toddlers, tweens, teens, or any age in between.  It would make a great gift for new parents or anyone struggling with the daily pressures of child-rearing.  It has my highest recommendation.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Book Crash in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

