For the Right Reasons by Sean Lowe

Book description:

After The Bachelorette broke his heart, Sean Lowe suspected his “nice guy” image hurt him. The show never emphasized it, but Sean committed to living according to biblical standards of sexuality, even as producers emphasized the risqué and promiscuous. A Texas boy from a Baptist home, Sean tells the story of how he went from a Division I college football player to a fan favorite on reality television, taking readers behind the scenes of The Bachelor and The Bachelorette to see the challenges of living out his values and faith—and ultimately winning his true love’s heart.

For the Right Reasons is about the journeys we all have to take in the real world, where being “good” is the right thing to do but sometimes doesn’t seem to be enough; where betrayal is commonplace; and where that thing called perfection is actually just a cruel myth. Sean learned a few things from his two seasons on the hottest romance shows on television, and he wants others to benefit from those lessons: good does eventually win, lies will be discovered, and “nice guys” do ultimately finish first.

My review:

I didn’t really know what to expect from this book when I started reading it, but was interested in getting a “behind the scenes” look at the show.  I don’t watch the show every season, but did watch Lowe’s season.

I have mixed feelings about the book.  On one hand, the information about how the show works and the production staff was really interesting.  I had always wondered how the bachelor or bachelorette was able to keep all the names of the 25 people straight that they meet on the first night and now I know.  Lowe’s book also cleared up some other questions I had occasionally wondered about and even gave me additional information.  He even confirmed things that my husband and I had speculated about with the way the rose ceremonies are conducted.

However, there was a lot of information in the book that didn’t interest me all that much.  I didn’t need to know so much about Lowe’s growing up years and I thought the inclusion of the number of his school pictures growing up was a little self-indulgent.  It would have made the book so much more interesting for me to read about his life now with Catherine.

Overall, it was a decent book that I think fans of the show will really enjoy.  However, if you have never watched The Bachelor, or didn’t watch Lowe’s seasons on the show, there probably isn’t a lot of substance to hold your interest.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

