Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

Book Description:

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.  As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world.   And she’ll be with the boy she loves–who’s also her best friend.   But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes.   Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.   And now it’s too late to walk away.

My review:

This is not the kind of book that I typically read and enjoy.  I was interested in reading it because it was described as a book that fans of Divergent and the Hunger Games would enjoy, but I found it to be vastly different from either of those books.  It seemed to be more of a fantasy-type book as opposed to a dystopian book.

I don’t know how Dayton did it, but she somehow managed to craft a novel that simultaneously feels like it takes place in the past, present, and future.  I had to remind myself several times that it is a futuristic novel.  The characters have this timeless quality, but the weaponry is definitely futuristic.  All together, it adds to the surreal effect of the book.  It made it a lot more interesting to me.

Another great aspect of the book is enjoying the journey of the book, while wondering how it will end.  Some books I keep reading, just because I am so curious about what is going to happen and how the conflict will be resolved.  I was curious about how Seeker would end, but I also enjoyed the twists and turns.  This was one of the least predictable books I’ve read in a very long time.

Overall, if you are a fan of futuristic fantasy fiction, I think you will enjoy this book.  I wouldn’t say that fans of the Divergent series or the Hunger Games series would automatically enjoy this book, however.  To me, they have very different tones.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

  1. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it! I got it from NetGalley, too, but haven’t seen any positive reviews about it yet so I hadn’t been looking forward to it. Now there’s hope!

    Like

    • lucky4jill says:

      I think it would receive more positive reviews if it wasn’t compared to Divergent and the Hunger Games. It gives readers one idea of what it is going to be like and then delivers something different – not bad, but different. I’m looking forward to reading your review!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

