Dashing Dish by Katie Farrell

Book description:

Like many of us, twenty-four-year-old author Katie Farrell has struggled with her weight and healthy eating. As a teen she went through yo-yo dieting and was prone to eating disorders. But through God and a passion for food and cooking, she hit upon the formula that would transform her from unhealthy girl to confident woman.

In warm, accessible language and beautiful photographs, Katie shares 100 recipes for clean eating. Every recipe is simple to make and delicious to eat. Katie uses gluten-free oat flour in place of wheat flour, cottage cheese and yogurt in place of fat, and Stevia in place of sugar.  Her tips are practical, her tone inspirational. Anyone looking to eat better for the rest of their life will want to own this book.

My review:

This is an excellent cookbook for anyone who is looking to clean up their eating without following a strict diet plan.  I really appreciated the introduction to the book and Farrell explaining details and techniques about the recipes, especially with using oat flour and converting between oatmeal and oat flour.  I had a much better understanding of how the recipes would work when I was reading through them.

The recipes were all easy to understand and follow and included nutritional information, which is a huge plus for me.  The best part is that most of the recipes included ingredients that I already had on hand in my kitchen.  Some of the ingredients that I didn’t have, Farrell included ideas for substitutions, which was excellent!

My favorite recipes were the ones that were suitable for one person.  Sometimes it is difficult to make 12 servings of a recipe when only one person will be eating it, depending on the item.  I also loved all of the recipes for muffins that could be frozen and eaten over several days.  It is a handy way to keep nutritious food available to grab quickly in the morning when you are running out the door!

All in all, I thought this was a great cookbook that I will definitely hold on to.  If you are looking for a source of good, clean recipes, look no further than this book!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Book Look Bloggers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

