The Chia Bookbook by Janie Hoffman

Book description:

Mamma Chia founder Janie Hoffman presents recipes for incorporating superfood chia seeds into flavorful smoothies, snacks, meals, and desserts.

Chia is a powerful little seed with incredible health benefits. In this mouthwatering recipe collection, Mamma Chia founder Janie Hoffman invites you into her kitchen to learn the secrets of incorporating this ancient superfood into modern meals from breakfast to dinner and happy hour to dessert.

My review:

After reading Hoffman’s other book, Chia Vitality, I was really excited to read this cookbook to get ideas on ways to incorporate chia seeds and gel into every day eating.  This cookbook does exactly that.

As far as cookbooks go, this one is not particularly large, but it does have a lot of recipes that are easy to execute, with ingredients that most people would have on hand in the kitchen.  I really like the flaps on the cover that readers can use as bookmarks.  It is such a small detail, but it helps with the overall user-friendly experience of the book.

The only criticism I have about the book is that I wish it had the nutritional information broken down at the end of the recipes.  That would make the book more helpful to readers who are counting carbs or calories, or sugar.  I understand Hoffman doesn’t really address chia seeds as anything other than a natural superfood, but I think a lot of readers want to know the breakdown of what they are eating.

My favorite recipes are the ones for the smoothies.  I didn’t make every smoothie, as described in the book, but adapted to use other ingredients I already had.  My other favorite part of the book is the instructions on how to make chia gel, specifically how to make different quantities of chia gel.  I’m not a very adventurous cook, so I really appreciate clear, precise directions.

If you are looking for ideas on how to incorporate chia into every meal and snack, this book offers a wide variety of options.  I can’t wait to read Hoffman’s next cookbook!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

