God’s Greatest Gift by Deborah Burch

Book description:

God’s Greatest Gift, written and illustrated by accliamed artist, Deborah Burch, is a lively, rhythmic and heartfelt story about a child discovering that he/she is a blessing from God. It demonstrates that every child living in our wonderous world is a unique and miraculous creation. Parents will enjoy sharing this special message time and time again with their greatest gift. 10.5 x 9 Hardcover with dust jacket, 32 brilliantly illustrated heavy duty pages

My review:

I love the bright and colorful illustrations throughout this book.  Each page offers a visually stimulating illustration related to the text.  The text itself winds its way through the pictures, which increases young readers interest in the words and pictures.  This book is great to read aloud to pre-readers, as the text is written in simple rhyming couplets and consists of the question about God’s greatest gift.

I read over this book myself before I read it with my son, so I knew the answer at the end was “you”.  However, when reading it with my son, after the first question in the book about God’s greatest gift he answered “Jesus”.  When the answer was revealed at the end of the book, it led to an interesting discussion.  Without a doubt, God’s greatest gift to us is Jesus.  However, for me personally, it was impossible to understand the depth of God’s  sacrifice of His only son until I had children of my own.  My son is older than the target audience, so I’m not sure younger children would be able to participate in a discussion like that, but it might open the door to similar discussions.

My favorite part of this book is the activity at the end where Burch challenges readers to find seven of one item in each illustration.  My son and I had a great time racing each other to see if we could be the first to find which item is replicated seven times.  Some of the pages were challenging!

If you are looking for a bright, colorful book that would be an excellent read aloud for young readers, this is a great choice.  Sometimes it is difficult to find a book where the illustrations hold the attention of very young children long enough that the parent has enough time to read all the words on the page.  This book keeps the text simple enough that parents have enough time to read the text and then talk about the illustrations with their child.  That is a big plus in my mind!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Book Crash in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

