In Her Kitchen by Gabriele Galimberti

Book description:

On the eve of a photography trip around the world, Gabriele Galimberti sat down to dinner with his grandmother Marisa. As she had done so many times before, she prepared his favorite ravioli—a gesture of love and an expression of the traditions by which he had come to know her as a child. The care with which she prepared this meal, and the evident pride she took in her dish, led Gabriele to seek out grandmothers and their signature dishes in the sixty countries he visited. The kitchens he photographed illustrate both the diversity of world cuisine and the universal nature of a dish served up with generosity and love. At each woman’s table, Gabriele became a curious and hungry grandson, exploring new ingredients and gathering stories. These vibrant and intimate profiles and photographs pay homage to grandmothers and their cooking everywhere. From a Swedish housewife and her homemade lox and vegetables to a Zambian villager and her Roasted Spiced Chicken, this collection features a global palate: included are hand-stuffed empanadas from Argentina, twice-fried pork and vegetables from China, slow-roasted ratatouille from France, and a decadent toffee trifle from the United States. Taken together or bite by bite, In Her Kitchen taps into our collective affection for these cherished family members and the ways they return that affection.

In Her Kitchen is an evocative, loving portrait of the power of food and family, no matter where in the world you sit down for dinner.

My review:

This is one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read!  The idea behind it is nice – photographer Galimberti traveled around the world and spent time with grandmothers from all over.  He talked with them and cooked with them and then photographed them in their kitchen or living area.

I thought the recipes from all around the world were very interesting.  I can’t say how many I will make, but I can definitely pin point one I won’t.  I can’t imagine eating caterpillars, although Galimberti shared that the recipe was delicious!

The stories about the women featured in the book were nice and it was interesting to see what people around the world eat.  However, what elevated the book from interesting to amazing is the photographs!  I loved, loved, loved examining the pictures of all the women in their kitchens or dining rooms.  They were featured with materials they use in preparing their recipes and I found it fascinating to see the different labels on food products.  I was equally fascinated to see a bottle of 409 cleaner in the background of one of the pictures.

It was nice to study the pictures of the women and imagine the stories that they might have to tell.  Some of the women were in their 80’s, so it was mind-boggling to consider the changes they have seen in the world in their lifetime.

The greatest thing about this book is that it is so much more than a simple cookbook.  For me, the recipes were a miniscule part of the charm of this book.  I find myself desperately hoping that Galimberti will do a follow-up book in the same format.  I would love to read another book similar to this one.

I think this book would appeal to a great many people.  Whether you are interested in cooking, culture, history, or photography, this is an awesome book!  I give it my highest recommendation.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Her Kitchen by Gabriele Galimberti

  1. 2crazyblessed says:

    What an awesome book! Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

