Chia Vitality by Janie Hoffman

Book description:

The chia seed packs a nutritional punch unrivaled by almost any other superfood, and has skyrocketed in popularity over the last few years. It’s no wonder that it made up a key component of the diet of Aztec warriors: Chia is an excellent source of protein, omega-3s, anti-oxidants, fiber, and much more! In Chia Vitality, Janie Hoffman–founder of beverage and snack company Mamma Chia, has created a 30-day program for harnessing the power of chia to improve your whole life.

Chia Vitality is Janie’s down-to-earth 30-day plan that shows readers how to harness the power of chia to boost stamina, lose weight, prevent disease, and get healthier. Informed by research, as well as her personal experience with the life-changing health benefits of chia, Janie outlines the amazing benefits of chia and walks readers through a flavorful and accessible eating plan, chia-based menus, blueprints for working chia into meals, snacks, and beverages, and a yoga and meditation plan.

My review:

I have seen chia seeds in the health foods store, and had heard others talking about the nutritional value of incorporating chia into your diet, but I really had no understanding of how to do so.  This book was very educational for me.

I really liked some parts of this book.  I thought the section explaining about why chia seeds are so good for us was very informative and well-written.  The best part of it was the recipes and how to incorporate chia seeds into your diet in a very easy and accessible way.  I’ve been searching for great tasting vegan salad dressings and I was impressed with Hoffman’s explanation of how to use chia gel to thicken salad dressings in a healthier way.

The least effective part of this book for me was the sections where Hoffman encouraged readers to take up yoga and meditation.  There were no pictures of the yoga poses, so I think readers with no experience with yoga would be hard pressed to replicate them.  I am also not personally interested in meditation and would have enjoyed more recipes.

If you are interested in making positive changes to your lifestyle and are mystified about the hype around chia and want to learn more about the health benefits of chia, this is a great introductory book.  It will give you more information about chia than you ever imagined!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chia Vitality by Janie Hoffman

  1. 2crazyblessed says:

    Chia seeds are all the rage, but I made a chia seed pudding that made me throw up a little in my mouth. Now I just put in the blender with my morning smoothie. Its much better that way. Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lucky4jill says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your bad experience with chia pudding. It is hard for me to imagine something that you made not tasting good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

