Solstice by Jane Redd

Book description:

Four ways to get Banished from the last surviving city on earth are: 1. Cut out your emotion tracker, 2. Join a religious cult, 3. Create a rebellion against the Legislature, 4. Fall in love.

Jezebel James does all four.

Jez is on the fast-track to becoming a brilliant scientist, with one goal—to save her city from total extinction. Her caretakers have entrusted her with a secret plan to stop the rain from flooding the rest of the earth and start civilization anew. But the more Jez learns about the price of a fresh beginning, the more she realizes that carrying out the plan will lead to few survivors, and among the dead will be those she cares about the most.

My review:

It seems as if dystopian books featuring teens or young adults are all the rage these days.  This one is a little different from others I have read recently because it features a society struggling with weather-induced difficulties.  Jez lives in the last remaining city because the rest of the earth has flooded due to rain.  There are Lake Towns, but the city people are conditioned to believe that the Lake People are barbaric.

This is one of those books that took me a couple of days to get through.  Mainly because the font was small on my ereader and I couldn’t adjust it because of the program I was reading the pdf in.  However, there was a lot of information in this story and I kept wondering where Redd was going.  I couldn’t ever quite figure it out, so it held my attention and kept me on my toes.

There was one point where I thought there were too many loose story lines that weren’t wrapped up.  I thought, “The author didn’t have a clear picture of where she wanted to go.”  However, then it all came together at the end and I was greatly impressed with the crafting of the story.  Just when you think a character has fulfilled their purpose in the story, there is a twist.  This is the first book I’ve read by Redd, but I will keep my eyes out for other books by her.

If you like twisting story lines that are filled with surprises without giving away too many clues of what is going to happen next, this is the story for you.  I can’t wait to read the sequel and find out what Jez does next!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Swoon Reads in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Solstice by Jane Redd

  1. 2crazyblessed says:

    Sounds like a great book!

    Like

  2. kirstviz says:

    I love dystopian fiction so i think I will add this to my TBR pile 🙂
    I am a new follower via book blogs.
    Kirsty xx
    http://www.kirstylovesbooks.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

