Buttermilk Sky by Jan Watson

Book description:

Weary of the expectations imposed on her by her strict upbringing, eighteen-year-old Mazy Pelfrey prepares to leave her home in the Kentucky mountains for the genteel city of Lexington, where she’ll attend secretarial school. She knows her life is about to change—and only for the better. Everything will be blue skies from now on.

But business school is harder than she thought it would be and the big city not as friendly, until she meets a charming young man from a wealthy family, Loyal Chambers. When Loyal sets his sights on her, Mazy begins to see that everything she’d ever wished to have is right before her eyes. The only hindrance to her budding romance is a former beau, Chanis Clay, the young sheriff she thought she’d left firmly behind.

Danger rumbles like thunder on a high mountain ridge when Mazy’s cosseted past collides with her clouded future and forces her to come to terms with what she really wants.

My review:

This is the third book I’ve read from Jan Watson and is definitely my favorite so far.  I thought the character of Mazy was endearing and enjoyed reading how her personality developed throughout the book.

In fact, the characters are what make this book so enjoyable to read.  There is a nice mix of characters; some are good-hearted and are trying to live a good life, while others are searching for meaning to their life, and others are mean-spirited.  It was nice to root for some characters and secretly hope for some of the characters to get their due.

Although I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it as a nice afternoon light read, I did have some issues with the plot.  Some of the secondary story lines just stopped without a satisfactory conclusion.  I’m hoping that Watson will revisit the characters that were left hanging in a future book, but you can never be sure.  I’m still shaking my head over another plot line that really came out of nowhere and still doesn’t make much sense to me.  I can only assume that perhaps Watson wanted to share a message of forgiveness and becoming a new creation in Christ, but it threw me for a loop.

Despite my criticism of some aspects of the plot, the characters make this book a worthwhile read.  I will definitely read another book by Watson in the future.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buttermilk Sky by Jan Watson

  1. 2crazyblessed says:

    Another excellent review from my favorite reviewer!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

