To Everything a Season by Lauraine Snelling

Book description:
Trygve Knutson is devoted to his family and his community. With his job on the construction crew, he is helping to build a future for the North Dakota town of Blessing. Though he loves his home, he sometimes dreams of other horizons–especially since meeting Miriam Hastings.

Miriam is in Blessing to get practical training to become an accredited nurse. She’s been promised a position in the Chicago women’s hospital that will enable her to support her siblings and her ailing mother. Although eager to return to her family, Miriam is surprised to find how much she enjoys the small town of Blessing. And her growing attachment to Trygve soon has her questioning a future she always considered set in stone.

When a family emergency calls Miriam home sooner than planned, will she find a way to return? If not, will it mean losing Trygve–and her chance at love–for good?

My review:

I had a really hard time getting into this book.  In the first chapter, I kept looking for the main characters to appear and trying to get a sense of the characters that were presented and how they fit with the main characters.  When Trygve appeared, I thought – Now the story will take off.  The first chapter Trygve was in was super interesting and I found myself settling in to the story.  However, the very next chapter went off with other characters and I found myself searching for the story line again.  Eventually Trygve and Miriam’s story came together, but it was farther along in the book and by then I found myself so frustrated that I was skimming over sections of the book looking for them.

I have read several Snelling books and consider myself a big fan.  I still love her characters and her descriptiveness.  However, I really didn’t like the structure of this story, especially for it being the first in a new series.  There were too many characters introduced at the beginning other than the main characters.  In all fairness, perhaps I missed some vital information while I was skimming looking for Trygve and Miriam, but I just couldn’t get into the stories of the other characters because I just wanted to read more of Trygve.

Despite my lack of excitement for the book, I did really enjoy the historical aspect of the early look at the medical field in America.  It was interesting to learn about women in the early medical field.

I will have to read book two in the series.  Perhaps it will make we want to come back and re-read book one?

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Everything a Season by Lauraine Snelling

  1. 2crazyblessed says:

    Awesome review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

