The Home Team by Clint Archer

Book description:

Using illustrations and analogies from the world of sports, The Home Team by Clint Archer presents the Christian family as a team. He highlights the one-flesh union of husband and wife as the fundamental team for God’s design of society, the family, and marriage. Facing challenges together this cohesive team must not allow division to weaken their union. As children are added, Mom and Dad play their unique and essential roles to strengthen the expanding team. The family must close ranks on opponents to God’s design, tackle obstacles, and fortify the bonds in their huddle. In the unity and synergy of teamwork each player is uniquely positioned to advance the team’s objective. The goal is to give God glory, and enjoy the blessings and joy that come with obedience.

My review:

As a sports family, I could really identify with the analogies Archer used in his book and found it very informative and inspiring.  Right from the start I was drawn into what Archer was conveying to families, ways to draw closer together and unify to view themselves as members of a team.  It really made me think about how I could use the team-building language we impart to our children to support their sports team and use it to support the home team.  Our children know that once they commit to a team, they are with that team for the entire season because their team is counting on them.  Similarly, if they don’t “feel” like going to practice or a game, they are reminded that their coach is depending on them to “show up”.  I had never thought of applying those same principles to daily life in our home.

This book gives readers a lot to think about it terms of how the family unit is viewed.  I especially liked the way Archer described the role of the team captain.  Sometimes it is hard to describe Biblical submission of a wife to her husband, especially to those that are not Christian.  Archer gave me a different way to help others in my life understand the role of the husband.  I had to laugh at his description of “bump in the night” duty because of the many nights I wake up my husband to check out a sound that wakes me.  He always cheerfully goes to check it out for me – maybe not cheerfully, but he goes willingly!

This book would be great for anyone who is looking to strengthen their family unit.  If you are not a fan of sports, you might not enjoy it quite as much as I did, but there is still a lot to learn from it.  Archer really does inspire readers to look at challenges families face in a different way.  I highly recommend this book!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Cross Focused Reviews in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Home Team by Clint Archer

  1. 2crazyblessed says:

    I am looking forward to reading it! Thanks for the review!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Home Team: God’s Game Plan for the Family Blog Tour | Cross Focused Reviews

Leave a Reply

