A Lady in France by Jennie Goutet

Book description:

At seventeen, Jennie Goutet has a dream that she will one day marry a French man and sets off to Avignon in search of him. Though her dream eludes her, she lives boldly—teaching in Asia, studying in Paris, working and traveling for an advertising firm in New York.

When God calls her, she answers reluctantly, and must first come to grips with depression, crippling loss, and addiction before being restored. Serendipity takes her by the hand as she marries her French husband, works with him in a humanitarian effort in East Africa, before settling down in France and building a family.

Told with honesty and strength, A Lady in France is a brave, heart- stopping story of love, grief, faith, depression, sunshine piercing the gray clouds—and hope that stays in your heart long after it’s finished.

My review:

I loved this book, what I read of it.  The writing is painfully honest at times, engaging throughout the pages that I read, and an interesting look at the different cultures the Goutet experienced through her travels.  However, I have to be honest and admit that I did not finish this book.

When it arrived in the mail, I was surprised at the weight of it.  The book itself is written on very nice quality paper.  When I started flipping through it, I was shocked at the size of the print.  I thought to myself, this is going to be a hard one to read.  Not only is the font small, but it is rather thin as well.  However, I started reading and was immediately drawn into Goutet’s story.  I read until I started to feel a migraine coming on and then put the book down.  After several days of trying to read and developing a headache every time, I reluctantly determined that this is one of the rare books that I simply cannot finish.

If you don’t have difficult with small print, then you will love this book.  If you have a choice, get this book on an e-reader so that you can enlarge the font.  I did read through some other reviews of this book and no one else seemed to have difficulty with the print.

From what I read of this book, it was a great book that I would have loved to finish.  It was just too difficult for me to read.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Book Crash in exchange for my honest review.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

