Making Marion by Beth Moran

Book description:

Marion Miller comes to Sherwood Forest to uncover her father’s mysterious past. She is looking for somewhere to stay, but instead finds herself on the wrong side of the reception desk at the Peace and Pigs campsite. Despite her horrible shyness, she promptly lands herself a job working for the big-hearted and irrepressible Scarlett. It takes all of Marion’s determination to come out of her shell and get to grips with life on a busy campsite, where even the chickens seem determined to thwart her. Then an unfortunate incident with a runaway bike throws her into the arms of the beautiful, but deeply unimpressed, Reuben… Can Marion discover her father’s secret? And will she find peace, and perhaps even love, among the pigs?

My review:

I thought this was a very clever book that plays with the characters in the story of Robin Hood and Maid Marion.  To be clear, the only similarity is the names of the characters and the setting, but I thought the idea to use Reuben and Marion was neat.

The characters are what make this story so interesting.  There are numerous characters, but Moran does such a great job describing them and introducing them that it is very easy to keep them separate.  I found myself emotionally invested in Marion’s character almost from the very beginning and wanted to keep reading to find out what happened to her.  Likewise, I was so invested in some auxiliary characters that I found myself a little teary at times.  Moran isn’t afraid to write characters struggling with human faults and weaknesses.  The honest writing takes this book a step above others in this genre.

I thought the plot was almost as strong.  It is frustrating to read a book and have the conclusion figured out halfway through the book.  While some aspects of this book might be predictable in terms of relationships, there are several surprises that keep readers interested.  I thought Moran also did a great job in not giving away too much, too soon.

I’m always on the lookout for a new author to read and follow.  Moran is one that I will eagerly anticipate reading her next novel.  If you are looking for a fresh new author to follow, check out Making Marion.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

