Tattler’s Branch by Jan Watson

Book description:

Lilly Corbett Still has grown to love her life as the small-town doctor of Skip Rock, a tiny coal community in the Kentucky mountains. Though her husband, Tern, is away for a few months at a mining job, Lilly has her hands full with her patients and her younger sister visiting for the summer.

Lilly turns to her good friend and neighbor, Armina, to help keep things in order—until a mysterious chain of events leaves Armina bedridden and an abandoned baby on her doorstep. Lilly works to uncover the truth, unaware of what a mess she’s found herself in until a break-in at her clinic puts her on high alert. As she struggles between what is right and what is safe, Lilly must discover the strength of her resilient country neighbors, her God, and herself.

My review:

This was a very nice book for an afternoon of reading.  At first, I was a little confused because there were a lot of characters introduced very quickly at the beginning of the book, but eventually I sorted out who everyone was.  I hadn’t read the first book in the series prior to reading this one, so perhaps if I had, I would have had a better idea of the characters right off the bat.

This is the first book I have read by Jan Watson, and I have to say that I really enjoyed her writing style and plot structure.  The plot keeps moving and Watson has a knack for not giving away too many details too quickly.  As the book progresses, readers are able to piece together the clues without it being too predictable.  I also enjoyed reading about various medical treatments and ailments of the time period.  I always enjoy learning something while I read!

Another thing I really enjoyed about the book was the characters.  I was impressed with the way that Watson made a bad guy sympathetic to readers.  I found myself rooting for them, even though they had done terrible things.  It is a rare author that can pull that off for me.

If you are looking for a nice, easy afternoon read, this is a great choice.  Although it is part of a series, it is not necessary to have read the first book prior to this one.  Just take your time at the beginning to get a good grasp on the characters, and you will be fine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tattler’s Branch by Jan Watson

  1. 2crazyblessed says:

    Thanks for the review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

