Abraham by Charles R. Swindoll

Book description:

When we rewind history back to Abraham’s era, we encounter people who concocted false superstitions to explain the unexplainable. Powerful kings claimed to be gods, building massive pyramids to achieve immortality. Out of this mass of misunderstandings, one man emerged. The man we know today as Abraham not only claimed that one true Creator existed but also staked his entire life on this belief. Why, thousands of years later, are we still discussing the faith of this desert nomad? One of America’s most popular Bible teachers, Pastor Chuck Swindoll, answers that question and many more in this compelling and insightful biography that will inspire your own faith.

My review:

This is the most in depth book I’ve ever read about the life of Abraham. We can read through his story in the Bible and understand the change of his name from Abram to Abraham. We can think about how strange it might be to hear that your descendants will be as numerous as the stars in the sky when your wife is well past child-bearing years and you have no children. We can even draw on our own experiences of stepping out in faith and imagine how Abram might have felt in following God’s will. However, what Swindoll does so well in this book is to bring all of those events alive for readers.

When reading this book, readers get a clearer picture of the culture that Abram lived in and why his packing up and leaving his land was such a leap of faith. I loved the way that Swindoll described what that experience might look like for us. I really enjoy books that make the people and stories in the Bible more alive for me and this book definitely does that. I also really enjoyed the chapter on prayer and Swindoll’s discussion about unconfessed sin and how it might impact your prayer life.

The only crticism I would have about the book is the cover. I read this book as part of the Tyndale Summer Reading program and saw only the thumbnail image of the cover on the reading list and on Net Galley. I did not see the subtitle and did not get a clear look at the picture on the cover. I make it a habit of not reading descriptions of books because I find that the descriptions sometimes give away too much of the book. With all that said, I started reading this book under the mistaken assumption that it was about Abraham Lincoln! For some reason, the thumbnail of the cover looked like Lincoln to me and I was all geared up to learn about the faith of Abraham Lincoln. So I started reading and Swindoll was talking about Abraham and I kept waiting for him to draw comparisons to Lincoln! My mistake is not a reflection of the quality of the book, I just had to share my funny story. I might have to decide to read descriptions, at least on non-fiction books.

This is a great book that is very well-written. If you are interested in learning more about the life of Abraham to draw closer to the Lord, this is the book for you.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

