Rebekah’s Treasure by Sylvia Bambola

Book description:

Forced to flee war-torn Jerusalem in 70 A.D. Rebekah and her husband, Ethan, each take something of value: Rebekah, the cup of the Last Supper; Ethan, a copper scroll detailing the whereabouts of a vast Temple treasure. Ahead, separation and danger face them as each tries to survive. But it’s not only external forces that could keep them apart forever but internal ones as they struggle to discover where their true treasure lies.

My review:

This book was a little slow to start for me, but the richness of the characters, the insight into the culture, and the historical accuracy of the plot drew me in and held my interest throughout the entire book.  Parts of this book were difficult to read because Bambola didn’t shy away from depicting the realities of war, the slave-trade of the times, the fate of captives, and the conflict between monotheism and polytheism.

Although this book is fiction, I learned a lot while reading this book.  I was familiar with the division between Jews and Gentiles and Jewish followers of the Way, but Bambola did a great job bringing the division to life, which really helped me to understand it.  For example, in a dinner scene, Jewish Christians were sharing a meal.  Some of them ate hare, while others refused to on the grounds it was unclean.  It helped me to see why there was conflict between Jews at this time.

I think this is a great book for anyone who enjoys reading historical fiction.  It is obviously very well-researched and well-written.  I can’t wait to read another book by Bambola.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookCrash in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

