It Had to Be You by Susan May Warren

Book description:

Eden Christiansen never imagined her role as her younger brother Owen’s cheerleader would keep her on the sidelines of her own life. Sure, it feels good to be needed, but looking after the reckless NHL rookie leaves little time for Eden to focus on her own career. She dreamed of making a name for herself as a reporter, but is stuck writing obits—and starting to fear she doesn’t have the chops to land a major story. If only someone would step up to mentor Owen . . . but she knows better than to expect help from team veteran and bad-boy enforcer Jace Jacobsen.

Jace has built his career on the infamous reputation of his aggressive behavior—on and off the ice. Now at a crossroads about his future in hockey, that reputation has him trapped. And the guilt-trip he’s getting from Eden Christiansen isn’t making things any easier. But when Owen’s carelessness leads to a career-threatening injury and Eden stumbles upon a story that could be her big break, she and Jace are thrown together . . . and begin to wonder if they belong on the same team after all.

My review:

This is my second visit with the Christiansen family and I enjoyed it every bit as much as the first.  Warren has a gift for imagining the ways a large family might fit together and crafting characters that share the same love and moral upbringing, but have unique thoughts, experiences, and characteristics.  In this book, Eden is the self-assigned cheerleader of the others in her family.  Her brother, Owen, is in the spotlight and Eden acts more like his unpaid personal assistant.

This book was not as predictable as these kinds of books usually are.  There are several different story lines woven together, and I wasn’t quite sure what was going to happen with each of them.  I liked the way Warren tackled a lot of different medical situations with tact, clarity, and education.

If you are looking for a wonderful book to read while enjoying the beach or pool this summer, this is a great choice!  Another nice thing in this series is that if you haven’t read the previous book, it will not affect your enjoyment of this book.  Each book stands alone.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s