Deeper Than Red by Sue Duffy

Liesl Bower, concert pianist, is once again in danger from someone unknown in this final book of the Red Returning trilogy.  There is a extensive cast of characters in this novel of conspiracy, espionage, and WMD.  Liesl and her fellow musician Max have to choose whether to continue their concert performances despite the danger.  Tally Greyson is desperate to convince her mother to leave the colony of mediums she has fallen into.  What is the connection between these characters, located on opposite sides of the Atlantic Ocean?

I had not read the previous two books in this series, but it didn’t keep me from enjoying this one.  Duffy gave enough background information on the characters and their history that it was easy to get up to speed on who they were.  I did still have some questions that were not answered about their history, but they did not interfere with me understanding what was happening in this book.  I was initially interested in reading this book because of Liesl’s occupation as a concert pianist and would have liked to read more about that aspect of her life.

Knowing that this was a Christian fiction book, I was surprised that part of the novel takes place at a colony of mediums.  I don’t typically read books that include psychics and seances and found myself skimming over the sections describing Tally’s life at the colony.  I think readers should be prepared for that topic in the book.

The part I enjoyed the most about this book is the wonderful descriptions Duffy gives of Germany, the Holocaust memorial, and the Brandenburg Gate.  I was so intrigued by some of her descriptions that I had to Google the places to see pictures.  The descriptions were so real, I could imagine being there myself.

I have mixed opinions about this book.  On one hand, I really enjoyed the descriptiveness of the writing and the suspense.  On the other hand, I don’t enjoy reading about the occult, even though Duffy wrote about it in a Biblical way.  If you are a fan of suspense and international espionage, you will probably enjoy this book.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Kregel Pubications in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deeper Than Red by Sue Duffy

  1. courtney says:

    The occult is strictly forbidden in the bible. Why would someone write a Christian book that takes place in the world of spiritual mediums?

    Like

Leave a Reply

