Modern Pioneering by Georgia Pellegrini

Georgia Pellegrini combines the wisdom passed down from her great-aunt and her grandmother with her love for food and adventure in this book that provides readers information on how to live a self-sufficient life.  Some of the topics covered in this book are:  DIY projects to re-purpose materials, gardening advice, recipes that use easily home-grown herbs and vegetables, and survival skills.

First off, I have to say that it is a rare book that I will not lend out to friends or family members.  I love to read and like to share with others.  However, this is the one book I have read this year that I will not lend out.  It is that good, and I can see myself reading and referring to it over and over!

All of the tips and information in Modern Pioneering is very well explained and easily applied by readers, no matter where you live.  If you live in a big city and only have a rooftop or a balcony to garden on, Pellegrini offers suggestions on how to utilize the space.  If you live in the suburbs and possibly have an oddly-shaped yard, she provides sample garden plans to make the most of the space you do have.

The recipes included in the book all utilize either easily-grown or easily located vegetables, herbs, or other products.  Frequently cookbooks seem to have a handful of really accessible recipes along with many others that I am not sure I would ever make.  As I read through this book, I found myself thinking over and over – I could do that or I could make that or even better, I have all the stuff right here to make that.  That is the most exciting thing when reading a recipe from a book – to be able to make it that same day without a trip to the store!

I think the timing of this book could not be more perfect.  I think the economic recession has made a lot of people rethink their lifestyle and seek to reduce waste and wasteful spending.  If this sounds like you, this book will help you make small, effective changes that will improve your family’s eating habits, and the bottom line.  Plus, growing your own food is fun!

I can’t recommend this book highly enough!  It is a must-read!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Modern Pioneering by Georgia Pellegrini

  1. courtney says:

    Thanks for the review- please lend me this book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

