Threads of Change by Jodi Barrows

Four cousins travel together from Louisiana to Texas to start a new life.  Sharing the rigors of the trail and responsibilities of establishing a home on the frontier, they also share laughter, faith, and a love of quilting.  Liz Bromont, one of the cousins, is newly widowed and grieves for the loss of her husband.  Is she ready to move forward with her life and a new love?

This book started off very slowly for me and I thought I might not ever get in to it.  However, once the women started their journey to Texas, the storyline picked up and became more interesting to me.  It turned out to be a nice story, after all.  The plot was fairly predictable, but the characters were endearing.  I think I would have enjoyed this book more if each of the characters had been developed as much as Liz.  I can only anticipate that in the other books in this series, the author will focus on each of the other cousins.

I did enjoy reading about the quilts and the stories that the women put into their quilts.  It would have made the book better for me if the author had started off each chapter with a drawing or sketch of a different quilt block.

If you are looking for a nice, easy reading book to pass the time, you might enjoy this one.  With summer coming, this would make a nice book to read on the beach or beside the pool.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

