Outcasts by Jill Williamson

In Outcasts, book two of The Safe Lands series, Williamson keeps readers on the edge of their seats as the Glenrock captives work together to try to rescue the children that were taken from them and figure out a way to leave the Safe Lands.  Although they all have similar goals, Mason, Levi, and Omar have different strategies.  Mason is trying to find a cure to the disease that afflicts the people in the Safe Lands, while Omar steps into a role of his own making, that of a vigilante to bring justice to the Safe Lands.  While the three brothers escape with their people?  Or will them discover what liberation really means?

This book starts off really slowly.  I had to wait a fair amount of time in between reading the first book in this series, Captives, and reading this one.  At first, it was hard to remember all the characters from the previous book and the specifics of their story in the past.  However, as I read, I got to know the characters all over again and I came to a point where I couldn’t put the book down.  I was disappointed when I came to the end, because I can’t wait to find out what happens next!

Williamson does a great job with the characterization of each person in the story.  They are all different, but they stay true to who they are, and readers get the chance to really understand what motivates them and the choices they make.  However, there are plenty of surprises to keep the interest level high!  There are a lot of twists and turns to enjoy as the characters try to decide who they can and can not trust.

I like the way Williamson touches on topics present in our society today, but without making it too obvious or overtly sharing her views.  It made me think about some things while I was reading, which enhanced the reading experience.  It is a very cleverly written book!

If you like to read books that imagine what the future might be like, you will enjoy this series.  I think I will go back and read book one and then this one again, just to get a more cohesive experience with the characters.  I do think that readers should read the first book and then this one, because there isn’t a lot of back story given.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Outcasts by Jill Williamson

  1. 2crazyblessed says:

    I always look forward to your reviews. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Outcasts: The Safe Lands Series | BLOGSUNNYSIDE

Leave a Reply

