21 Prayers of Faith: Overcoming Fear and Doubt Through the Power of Prayer and God’s Word by Shelley Hitz

From the Amazon description:

Prayers Are Powerful

Prayer changes me. When I pray consistently to God something changes within me. And it can change you too. However, sometimes it is easy to get caught up in the busyness of life and not take the time to pray. This book can help you form a habit of coming to God everyday in prayer.

21 Days to a New Habit of Prayer

They say it takes 21 days to form a new habit. And so I have shared 21 prayers of faith with you to help you form a habit of prayer in your life. I have taken key truths from scripture and reworded them into prayers of faith. Combining prayer with God’s Word is powerful. I have experienced this in my own life and now want to share it with you.

I pray that these prayers help you to overcome fear and doubt through applying the power of prayer and God’s Word to your life.

 
My review:
 
My favorite part of this book was the way it touched on well-known stories of the Bible, such as Noah, Abraham, David and Goliath, and Joshua and Caleb.  Because it follows the stories in order, it almost feels like a quick overview of the entire Bible.  However, it isn’t just based on people and stories of the Bible, this book also offers prayers based on topics such as Love, Faith, and pleasing God.
 
I’ve read a lot of different devotional books, each offering something different.  What this one offers is a very user friendly way of facilitating daily prayer, either continuing it as a habit, or helping readers make it a habit.  It’s perfect for fitting into a busy schedule, because the readings are quite short, but to the point.  In addition to a prayer, each day offers verses related to the topic and additional reading to get a more complete experience.
 
This book is a perfect reminder that the Bible is meant to be read and re-read.  Readers might have read about Joshua and Caleb, but I liked the reminder to focus on God and put my trust in Him instead of listening to fear.
 
If you are looking for a book to help you improve your prayer life, especially if you have a really busy schedule, this one is great!
 
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Body and Soul Publishing in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

