Tide and Tempest by Elizabeth Ludwig

Tillie McGrath left Ireland with her fiance, hoping for a better life and never imagining that her fiance might die from an illness.  Although she is filled with grief, she perseveres and finds friends, a job, and a purpose.  Captain Morgan has never forgotten Tillie and feels responsible for her safety when he discovers that her fiance’s death was not what it seemed.  Morgan and Tillie are thrust into danger together as determined men strive to hasten Tillie to the same fate as her fiance.

This was a nice story.  I had a hard time getting into it and never experienced that wonderful feeling where I couldn’t wait to see what happened at the end.  The characters were pleasant, but I had a hard time connecting with them.  The plot had a couple surprises, which is always my favorite part of a book.  I do think I would have enjoyed the book more if it was a little more fast-paced.  The beginning was quite slow and I had a hard time getting into it.  I do think that the ending was better than the beginning.

If you are a fan of historical fiction, you might enjoy this book, especially if you like stories of Irish immigrants.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Girls, Young Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

