Runaway Saint by Lisa Samson

Artist Sara Drexel is surprised when her long-lost missionary aunt returns from Eastern Europe.  Sara’s mother asks if Aunt Bel can stay with Sara and her husband and Sara can not say no, even though she hardly remembers her.  As Bel becomes a part of her life and reveals some of her painful secrets from the past, Sara finds herself discovering parts of herself as well.

There are so many things to like about this book.  The characters are multi-faceted and interesting.  Samson does a wonderful job setting up the mysteriousness of Bel’s past.  There are so many clues, hints, and intrigue scattered throughout the book.  If you are one of those readers that like to revel in tiny hints of what is to come, you will really enjoy that aspect of the book.

I love the supportiveness of Finn to Sara and the dynamics of their relationship.  It adds a little bit of humor to the book with the way Finn always starts all kinds of different projects around the home and then flits off to the next one before completing the one already underway.

The only thing I didn’t like about this book was that it took a little too long for the mystery to unfold, for me.  I found myself getting a little bored throughout the middle of the book because it was progressing so slowly.  I liked the build-up, I just wish it would have happened a bit more quickly.

Despite my single criticism of the book, I can imagine a lot of readers really enjoying the slow unfolding of the plot, like the petals of a flower.  If you are one of those readers, this is the book for you.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookLookBloggers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

