The Tyrant’s Daughter by J.C. Carleson

From the Amazon Description:

When her father is killed in a coup, 15-year-old Laila flees from the war-torn middle east to a life of exile and anonymity in the U.S. Gradually she adjusts to a new school, new friends, and a new culture, but while Laila sees opportunity in her new life, her mother is focused on the past. She’s conspiring with CIA operatives and rebel factions to regain the throne their family lost. Laila can’t bear to stand still as an international crisis takes shape around her, but how can one girl stop a conflict that spans generations?

My Review:

I really enjoyed this book.  It is different from any book I’ve read before, which is great!  I really enjoyed reading about the culture that Laila came from and how she views the American culture.  It is even more interesting that the book is from the perspective of a teenager.  I particularly enjoyed the author’s notes at the end of the book where she explained her inspiration and thoughts behind the book.  She did not base the book on any one country or event in recent times, but took a lot of information and current events and fictionalized them.  It was quite clever, well-written, and really made me think.

I look forward to reading another book by this author.  If you enjoy reading about other cultures, you will probably enjoy this book.  On a side note, I’m always happy when I read a book that I would encourage my teenager to read.  This is one of those books!

Thank you to Net Galley for providing me with a copy of this book.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Boys, Teen Girls, Young Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

