Stepping Out in Faith by Mark Gilbert

From the back cover:

A young boy in the confessional lies about his sin, knowing that he is choosing hell over shame and embarrassment. A young man in spiritual distress decides to become a priest so he can be sure he will go to heaven. A white leather Bible sits in a box on a shelf for years, off limits to the little girl who asks to see it, because it might get dirty. “Just do what I say,” a priest tells another boy who is full of questions about God, “and everything will be okay”.

In every one of these situations God transformed people by his word in the Bible, replaced lies with truth, and brought peace through the salvation that is only found in Jesus Christ. This is a book with not one but 11 happy endings.

The 11 individuals who share their stories of Stepping Out in Faith could not be more different. They are men and women from different generations and from around the world. But they have in common the peace they have found in God through the gospel of Jesus Christ.

My review:

I love to read stories of other people and how their faith grew and developed, especially as they develop a closer relationship with Jesus Christ.  The one thing that struck me with a lot of these stories is the courage that a lot of the writers displayed, especially in regards to their relationship with their families.  It was a big change for them to leave the Catholic Church, but they found peace and happiness in their relationship with Jesus.

I didn’t realize when I started reading the book that Matthias Media is based in Australia.  I noticed that the stories were from people living in Australia, but it wasn’t until the end of the book that I realized why.  For me, it made the book even more interesting.  I enjoyed the glimpses into life in Australia and some of the language differences made it interesting.

Not only did I learn a little about Australia, I also learned about Catholicism.  I didn’t know a lot about the teachings of Catholicism or the Catholic Church practices, although I know a lot of people that used to be Catholic.

For me, this was an interesting and educational book.  If you are Catholic, or have friends who are, this would be a great book for you to read.  If you are a Catholic who left the church, either recently or in the past, I think you would particularly enjoy this book.

For more information about this book, please check out the link below:

http://www.newchurches.org.au/

To listen to an interview with Mark Gilbert about Stepping Out in Faith, click on the link below:

http://biblegeekgonewild.com/080

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Cross Focused Reviews and Matthias Media in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Boys, Teen Girls, Young Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stepping Out in Faith by Mark Gilbert

  1. Pingback: Stepping Out In Faith Blog Tour | Cross Focused Reviews

Leave a Reply

