Winter in Full Bloom by Anita Higman

Lily is surprised when she visits her mother after ten years of non-communication and her mother reveals a secret.  This secret prompts Lily to embark on a journey halfway around the world from Texas to Australia where her life takes on one surprise after another.  Will one of these twists result in a second chance at love?

I was hooked on this book from the very first chapter.  The characters are so interesting and the plot is not at all unpredictable.  I wondered if Lily’s search would be productive; I wondered if her friendship would continue when her visit to Australia was concluded.  I also wondered if her relationship with her mother would be repaired.  I think because there were so many different facets of each of the characters to wonder about, I couldn’t put this book down!

I also liked the message of the book of redemption and forgiveness, despite past mistakes.  It is a message that I can’t read enough.  All of the characters have to come to terms with things from their past and accept forgiveness to move forward into a hope for the future.  I think Higman did an excellent job weaving all of their stories together.

This is the first book that I ever read by Higman, but it won’t be the last!  According to her biography on the back cover, she has written over thirty-three books.  After reading this one, I can understand how she has been so successful.  I can’t wait to check out some of her other books.

If you like to read about interpersonal relationships, especially within families, you will enjoy this book.  I highly recommend this book and will definitely read it again!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Girls, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

