Born of Persuasion by Jessica Dotta

Seventeen year old Julia Elliston finds herself orphaned and under the care of a mysterious “guardian” who does not seem to have her best interests at heart.  He has arranged for her to travel to Scotland to work, but she doesn’t want to go.  She accepts an offer from a questionable neighbor lady to find a husband for her in exchange for 2000 pounds.  Julia accepts, even though she is officially betrothed to her childhood sweetheart.

I did not enjoy this story.  I appreciate the descriptive elements the author included, but I feel like there was so much description that the character development suffered.  I never really got that interested in the characters.  In fact, I had a really hard time getting into the story.  I kept reading and thinking, “any minute I’m going to get hooked”, but it never happened.

Despite my negative comments, I can think that there are readers that will enjoy this book.  If you are a fan of Jane Austen or the Bronte sisters, this book is probably right up your alley.  It just wasn’t for me.

This entry was posted in Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

