The Five Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace by Gary Chapman and Paul White

Gary Chapman and Paul White take the concept of the five love languages and apply them to the workplace to show appreciation to our co-workers and employees.  Chapman and White help readers to use the five love languages – Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Acts of Service, Tangible Gifts, and Physical Touch to increase employee loyalty, promote a positive work environment, and demonstrate to employees that they are valued.

I enjoyed this book.  At this point, I think I have read all of Chapman’s love languages book, but they are interesting, and I enjoy his writing style.  I find myself looking at people and trying to figure out what their love language is.  As I read this book, I thought about my co-workers and tried to figure out what their language of appreciation.  It is fairly obvious when someone is not receiving their language of appreciation.

I think this book would be excellent for anyone to read who works with others, particularly for managers or owners.  These days, it seems like companies are trying to reduce costs in any possible way.  While reading this book, I thought about how companies spend money on gifts and lavish awards ceremonies to recognize employees.  It made me wonder how much of it is a waste for people whose language of appreciation isn’t tangible gifts, or words of affirmation.  I thought it was good how the authors made it clear that there are different levels of words of affirmation.  For example, someone might prefer words of affirmation, but don’t want to be recognized in front of a large group of people.

Overall, an excellent resource to help co-workers communicate more effectively with each other.  If you want to make your workplace a better place to work, consider getting this book and leaving a few copies in the break room.  You might be surprised at the difference it makes in your working environment.

I received a copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Five Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace by Gary Chapman and Paul White

  1. I have not read this one I have read 5 love languages and the perfect for peyton its for kids I love his books I have review on my blog on the perfect pet for peyton my kids enjoyed to

    Like

Leave a Reply

