Living in Financial Victory by Tony Evans

Tony Evans shares with readers answers he has found to financial question, using biblical principles of stewardship, tithes, and gifts.  He also discusses how following God’s plan results in blessings and rewards for us, and shares some thoughts on overcoming debt.

I thought this book was just ok.  I had recently read one of Dave Ramsey’s books, and thought this book might be similar to that.  However, it was not.  I didn’t really get a lot of new information from this book that I haven’t read elsewhere, which is always a bit of a disappointment to me.  The principles of stewardship and tithing are familiar to me, as well as another topic Evans discusses, which is gratitude.  I think I was looking for more from the book.  However, it is always a good reminder to be good stewards, be responsible to tithe, and be grateful for our blessings.

I also have to point out that for readers that are unfamiliar with these topics, this book would be great.  Evans does a good job explaining each topic and backing it up with biblical facts.  So for new Christians learning about stewardship and what that means as a Christian, this would be a great book.

Overall, I wanted a little more from this book, but that doesn’t make it a bad book.  If you don’t know what stewardship or tithing is, and want to learn, this would be a great book for you.  If you need a reminder, this might be a good book for you.  If you are drowning in debt and looking for concrete suggestions to cut spending or set up a budget, this is not the book for you.

I received a copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Young Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

