For Every Season by Cindy Woodsmall

Rhoda Byler is working hard with her beau, Jacob, and his brother, Samuel, to develop a new Amish community in Maine.  Jacob and Rhoda have issues from the past that they are struggling to resolve, and their relationship is complicated by a momentary indiscretion between Samuel and Rhoda.  As the trio keeps striving toward making their orchard, they experience challenges.  Will their dream of a settlement ever become a reality?  Will Jacob ever be free from his past to embrace a future with Rhoda?  Will Rhoda realize that Samuel cares for her as more than a business partner?

I really wanted to like this book.  I am a fan of Cindy Woodsmall and her writing.  I’ve read several of her novels and enjoyed them very much.  However, I had a very hard time getting into this one, and never really clicked with it.  Usually, even if a book starts off slowly, at some point the characters, plot, or descriptive elements grab me and pull me in.  It never happened in this book.  The characters were interesting, but I was never racing through the pages to find out what happened next to them.  Likewise, the plot was just ok.  Even the ending was not that satisfying to me.

On a positive side, I think the recipes in the back sound delicious, and I plan on making one of them tomorrow.  It’s nice that they consist of ingredients most households would have on hand without a special trip to the market.  I love books that include recipes in them, especially Amish recipes.  The recipes were the best part of the book for me.

I also have to comment that this book is book three in Woodsmall’s Amish Vines and Orchards series.  I have not read books one or two, so that could possible contribute to my lack of connection with the characters.  Perhaps Woodsmall assumes readers would already be interested in Rhoda, Samuel, and Jacob, and so she doesn’t strive to develop that interest.  However, I’ve read other book series out of order, and I’ve been so interested in where the characters came from that I went back and read the other books.  I don’t think I will read the other books in this series, although I will definitely read other books by Woodsmall.

I still consider myself a Woodsmall fan, and think if you have read the first two books in this series, you might enjoy this one.  However, I did not particularly enjoy this book.

If you would like more information about this book, please click on the links below:

I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

