Critical Reaction by Todd M. Johnson

After an accident at a nuclear facility, Kieran Mullaney is confronted with threats and unresponsiveness from his superiors.  Concerned about the impact the explosion might have on his long-term health, he contacts lawyer and old college friend, Emily Hart about taking his case to court.  She approaches her estranged father, Ryan, about taking on the role of co-counsel and together take the case.  However, this was not a simple accident, and this will not be an easy case.  With subterfuge, company loyalty, and bribery hiding the truth, do Emily, Ryan, and Kieran have a chance at winning their case?

I’m not a big fan of courtroom novels, but this one sounded interesting so I wanted to give it a try.  This book offers a lot, the characters are believable, the plot is interesting and keeps moving.  I think Johnson does a great job in describing how a nuclear facility functions, without getting too technical or scientific.  The book didn’t grab my attention right from the beginning, but by the end, I couldn’t put it down.  I really liked the way Johnson kept me guessing throughout the book.

I can think of a lot of different types of people who would enjoy this book.  If you like John Grisham’s books, then this one would be right up your alley.  If you are a fan of suspense or mystery, or like to wonder how all the pieces will fit together in the end, this is a perfect book for you.  Also, what I really enjoyed about this book is that it was clean, with no bad language.

This is a good book, so if you are a fan of legal thrillers, give it a try.  I’m interested in reading Johnson’s other book The Deposit Slip.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

Critical Reaction: a novel

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Boys, Teen Girls, Young Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

