The Wayfinding Bible

The Wayfinding Bible offers readers different options for their reading, the flyover route, the direct route, or the scenic route.  The route vary in length and purpose:  The flyover route consists of 54 different readings covering the “big picture” of the Bible; the direct route consists of 215 readings to get a firm understanding of the bible story; the scenic route consists of 386 readings that explore the depth of God’s word.  Additionally, there are side trips that can be taken as well as a guide for a thru-hike, reading through the entire Bible.  Examples of side trips are The Afterlife, Angels, Prayers, and God’s Hand of Healing.

Beyond the “trips” readers can take, this Bible offers ancient maps and contemporary photographs so readers can visualize where they are reading about.  There are also observation points, exploration points, as well as side notes and points to get your bearings, to help readers understand what they are reading.  Finally, there is a running time line throughout the book at the bottom of the page to help readers keep track of where they are at chronologically.

I love, love, love this Bible for study purposes.  I chose to take the flyover route for my first reading through this Bible because I wanted to get the big picture idea, as well as learn how to use it.  There is a bit of a learning curve to understand how all the arrows and page numbers and side trips and points of interest work together that could be a little overwhelming.  My next trip will be the direct route.  I love the caption on the back of the sleeve of the woman saying, “I’ve tried to read through the Bible, but honestly, I get stuck in Leviticus every time” because that is totally me!

What I think is so great about this Bible is that it is perfect for any kind of Bible scholar.  A new believer could take the flyover route to get a taste of studying the Bible, then progress to one of the other options to gather more information.  After reading through the flyover route, I found that I am more hungry to go back and get more information,

There are so many wonderful things about this Bible, I don’t really want to give any criticism, but I must say I wish the font was either a little larger or the pages were a little thicker.  Sometimes it was a little blurry with the font size being smaller than what I am used to reading and the letters from the facing pages showing through.  Younger readers might not have a problem though!  I also wish the Bible was made with a different type of cover that was a little thicker.  However, these small suggestions should not deter anyone from this Bible!

Overall, this would be a great addition to anyone’s library.  It is a fun, innovative way to approach Bible study.  If you are stuck in a rut with your Bible reading, take a vacation through this Bible and recharge your batteries!

Please check out this link to the book trailer for more information:

http://goo.gl/9qpoal

The Wayfinding Bible NLT

I received a complimentary copy of this Bible through Tyndale Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions and comments are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Boys Under 12, Girls Under 12, Teen Boys, Teen Girls, Young Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

