What Are You Afraid Of by Dr. David Jeremiah

Dr. David Jeremiah discusses nine of our greatest fears and provides biblical truths for combating them.  It is safe to assume that everyone is afraid of something, and many fears are shared experiences with others.  Jeremiah spends a chapter talking about each of these fears:  Disaster, disease, debt, defeat, disconnection, disapproval, danger, depression, death, and deity.  In addition to sharing biblical principles to combat these fears, Jeremiah shares stories of biblical figures who shared these fears and what we can learn from their stories to help us in our own experiences.

This is an excellent book!  I wanted to read it because I am a fan of Dr. David Jeremiah, not necessarily because I experience a lot of fear in my life.  However, I got a lot out of this book.  It served to reinforce my faith that there really is nothing to fear!  The two chapters I enjoyed the most were the chapter on death and depression.  Death is one of those universal things everyone experiences, but remains unknown.  I love the way he put in mathematically – if you are born once, you will die twice and if you are born twice, you will die once.  I could chew over that all day long!

In the chapter on depression, I liked the way Jeremiah offered concrete advice on steps to take when readers are feeling down.  I also appreciated the story he shared about the psychiatrist giving a talk on mental illness and responding to a question about what we should do if we are heading toward depression.  Surprisingly, the psychiatrist didn’t say, “Take a pill”, he said, “Get out and do something for someone else.”  This is not to mean there isn’t a place for medication treatment in depression, but that we do not have to be passive when feeling down.  Really excellent advice!

This isn’t a quick reading book.  It took me three days to complete it because there is a lot of information and ideas to dwell upon, and this is one that I will definitely hold on to because I will want to read it again in the future.  It would be a great addition to anyone’s personal library.

Overall, I think this book has a lot of appeal for a lot of different people.  If you are plagued by fears, this book puts them in perspective.  If you, like me, aren’t plagued by fears, it offers reminders of why there is no reason to be afraid.  After all, if God is for us, who shall stand against us?

I received a complimentary copy of the book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

What Are You Afraid Of?: Facing Down Your Fears with Faith

http://mediacenter.tyndale.com/downloads/press_kits/InterviewQuestionsWAYAO.pdf

http://mediacenter.tyndale.com/downloads/press_kits/WAYAOMediaAlert.pdf

http://files.tyndale.com/thpdata/FirstChapters/978-1-4143-8046-9.pdf

http://www.davidjeremiah.org/site/default.aspx

http://www.tyndale.com/x_products/videos.php?flv=DrJeremiah_Trailer_ReEdit.flv

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Boys, Teen Girls, Young Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Are You Afraid Of by Dr. David Jeremiah

  1. Pingback: January Free and Reduced Ebooks from Tyndale Publishers | A Book A Day

Leave a Reply

