Living in the Pink by Sharon Tubbs

Sister Pinky is a leader in the women’s ministry of her church with a knack for helping others and providing the guidance they need, even when they think they don’t need it.  Through this collection of short stories, which are nicely woven into a novel, readers meet many of the women Sister Pinky comes into contact with, some of whom you might recognize from your own life.  Tubbs writes about many topics women experience, either personally or through friends, and struggle with today:  domestic violence, prodigal children, divorce, and infidelity.

This was a very nice book.  Sister Pinky’s catch phrase of “living in the pink” is her way of describing people who are holding on to the stain of skin and not accepting the purity of Jesus.    Although I have not experienced all of the circumstances as the women depicted in the book, I could identify with their feelings as they experience their trials.  It would be wonderful if everyone had a Sister Pinky in their life!

I enjoyed reading a book about a different church culture from what I have experienced.  I think this book would appeal to a lot of different women, because of the wide variety of stories included in it.  The only criticism I have is that it ended a little abruptly for me.  I wasn’t ready for it to end and I looked in the pages following the end hoping to see an advertisement for a follow-up book, but sadly, there wasn’t one.  I would love to find out what happens next to the characters I fell in love with.  In fact, one of my favorite things about this book is that women would pop up in other stories, which was almost like having a visit from a friend.

I recommend this book to any woman interested in reading a book demonstrating that she is not alone in her trials and heartaches.  The questions following each chapter would be great for an established women’s group, or just discussion questions for a small group of friends to share.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

