What Once Was Lost by Kim Vogel Sawyer

Christina Willems is a young woman who has spent her life in service to others, first as a helper to her parents, and then on her own after their deaths.  She is the leader of the Brambleville Asylum for the Poor until the night when a fire destroys their kitchen and leaves the residents scattered throughout their community dependent on the hospitality of others.  Tommy, a young boy who is blind as a result of an accident, is placed with the young mill owner, Levi Jonnson, because no one else will take him.  As the residents float in limbo, and Christina tries to repair the farm, one obstacle after another pops up.  Is it God’s will for the farm to be repaired, or does He have different plans for the residents?

I am a fan of Kim Vogel Sawyer and have enjoyed several of her books.  This was not one of my favorite ones.  The characters were interesting, but I didn’t really get a chance to know them before the fire.  After that, there were a lot of characters from the town and the farm, and I didn’t really develop a strong connection with any of them.  The plot was different from other books I have read, and although a relationship was predictable between Jonnson and Christina, I thought there were some nice surprises throughout the book.

My favorite part of the book was the way Jonnson fostered Tommy’s independence and self-confidence.  I liked the message that even though someone is handicapped, they are able to look after themselves, and are able to be productive.  I loved the way Jonnson helped Tommy develop a skill (weaving) that could benefit him in the future.

Overall, this book was just ok for me.  I can see where this book would appeal to a lot of people, but the characters and the plot didn’t really ever grab me enough that I couldn’t put it down.  I look forward to trying a different book by Sawyer to recapture my enjoyment of her writing.

I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.  All opinions are my own.

Please check out the links below for more information about this book and Kim Vogel Sawyer:

http://www.kimvogelsawyer.com/

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?work=221537

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/blog/2013/06/24/sneak-peek-what-once-was-lost-by-kim-vogel-sawyer/

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/author-spotlight.php?authorid=162648

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Girls, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

