Praying the Attributes of God by Ann Spangler

In a similar manner as her previous book, Praying the Names of God, Spangler offers Praying the Attributes of God, a look into God’s character.  The book is organized into daily readings discussing a variety of God’s characteristics.  Each chapter deals with one attribute of God; God is good, infinite, unchangeable, omnipotent, omnipresent, omniscient, patient, wise, self-sufficient, jealous, righteous, merciful, faithful, holy, creative, and transcendent.

I was impressed with how well Spangler described each characteristic of God and provided scriptural proof of the attribute.  I loved the way each chapter was organized into daily readings.  In each characteristic, there was some repetitiveness from one day to the next, but it was helpful to read the main scripture verses several times.  The format was easy to use and understand.  I also liked the way Spangler quoted Christian writers and preachers from the past.  I always enjoy reading quotes from C.S. Lewis, and was happy to see that Spangler referenced Lewis several times.

This is definitely not a light-reading book.  There is a lot of information given and it took some time for me to chew it over and really think about how each attribute of God has impacted my life.  I think the amount of reading for each day is just about right and gives readers a lot to mull over as we go about our day.  I wouldn’t recommend trying to read more than one day per day – this is a book to be savored!

If you want to deepen your understanding of God and improve your prayer life, this is a very educational, informative book.  I recommend it to anyone hungering for more knowledge of God.  I also liked Spangler’s stories that she shared throughout the book.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the Tyndale Blog Network in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

