Straight Answers to 21 Honest Questions about Prayer by Charles Simpson

Simpson offers a guidebook that offers readers tools on how to deepen their prayer lives.  It is easy to pray thoughtless, routine prayers that don’t get results because they are offered without meaning.  Simpson addresses this in his book in an easy to use format.  Each chapter consists of a different question and answer such as, How Does God Want Me to Pray?, What Does It Mean to Pray Fervently?, Should I Quote Scripture When I Pray?, and Why Pray?.

I have mixed feelings about this book, which I think is a good thing.  Some chapters were not that meaningful to me, and I felt like they were too long.  On the other hand, I was completely transfixed to other chapters, and they seemed so short that I wished Simpson would write an entire book on that topic alone.  I think this is because the information in some chapters was not new to me, while other chapters offered information in a different way from I’ve ever read before.  I particularly enjoyed the chapter on fasting and Simpson’s thoughts on fasting.

I think this would be an excellent book for a new believer to read to start their prayer life on a straight path.  It would also be a great book for a bible study group to look at one chapter a week over a period of several weeks and focus on developing that skill or exploring that topic.  Even mature believers could benefit from some chapters in this book.  Simpson writes in an easy-to-understand, engaging manner, that is enjoyable to read.

If you are wanting to strengthen or deepen your prayer life, this is the book for you.  If you are concerned that your prayer life isn’t all it could or should be, this book might help you.  It is one of those books that keeps you thinking, even after you close the covers.

I received a copy of this book from the Chosen division of Baker Publishing Groups in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Boys, Teen Girls, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Straight Answers to 21 Honest Questions about Prayer by Charles Simpson

  1. courtney says:

    Thank you for your honest review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

