The Last Great Adventure by Philip D. Wilson

Noah and Kelsie were almost 19 and 17 when their earthly lives ended as a result of a motorcycle accident.  This book tells the story of what happens next.  After they encounter Jesus and follow Him through the door, what do they see?  What is heaven like for them?  Do they recognize anyone?  As they go to the other side, what are their lives like?  Wilson speculates on what Noah and Kelsie encountered in heaven and shares what he imagines they are doing.  Obviously, this is fiction, but Wilson does share scriptural references for some of his ideas.

At first when I started reading this book, I didn’t enjoy it very much.  I was very aware that Wilson was writing it through the profound grief of losing his son, and was unable to lose myself in the mystery of the story.  It was also a little challenging to read because some of the pages had dark ink, while others had faint ink.  It was distracting because every time I turned the page, I either thought, “Good, it has dark ink,” or “This is hard to read.”  With that being said, before too long, the wonder of the story took over and I found myself lost in it.

This is a very inspiring book.  I loved the descriptions of how people appear in heaven, recognizable, yet different.  I also loved the role of Emissaries, children that never had a chance to live, either through abortion or miscarriage.  I also enjoyed how people live together in peace and love, and all are brothers and sisters.  There is so much descriptive beauty through the book, it is an enjoyable read.

I applaud Wilson for putting his grief into words and sharing them with others.  I think this book would be very therapeutic for people to read who have lost someone they care about, so they can unleash their imaginations for what their loved ones might be experiencing.  Even though our human imaginations can not possible comprehend the wonder of heaven, I enjoyed Wilson’s descriptions.

I also think it was great how Wilson shared a disclaimer at the beginning and the end of the book that it was his imagination that the book came from.  He mentioned taking some liberties, and admitted that others might have conflicting views, which is okay.  He seemed very humble, and welcoming of other viewpoints.

Overall, an interesting book that many readers would enjoy.  If you are interested in reading what someone else imagines heaven to be like, check out this book.

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book through BookCrash in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.  If you would like to purchase the book, check out the link below.

The Last Great Adventure

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Boys, Teen Girls, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Last Great Adventure by Philip D. Wilson

  1. courtney says:

    Thank you for the review! I can’t wait to see heaven myself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

